Imagining What's Possible

Superintendent’s Conference Day Tuesday celebrated the contributions of outstanding Windsor educators and the opportunities they had to impact students this school year.

Keynote speaker Michael Roberts, author of, The Language of Possibility: How Teachers’ Words Shape School Culture and Student Achievement, spoke to teachers about the importance of using empathetic language in the classroom.
Roberts said that language can help lift or limit students and urged teachers to connect with the possibility of each student.

“By intentionally thinking about how they talk about kids, it can reshape where they see kids ending up in their learning. When talking about students, talk about their strengths., focus on what they can do, not what they can’t do,” said Roberts. “It takes all the teachers believing in all kids to help all kids.”

Before Roberts spoke, the district recognized staff for milestones of service and perfect attendance. Below are the honorees.
Five years of service:

Cole Battaglini, Heather Colwell, Mackenzie DuBois, Lori Fisher, Colleen Giblin, Raymond Kennerup, Heather Noyd, Jonathan Stoeckel, Erica Strick, Jessica Swingle.

Ten years of service:
Adrienne DeMarco, Jennifer Miller, Rebecca Reed.

Fifteen years of service:
Vita Bufalino, Tina Hagerman, Deborah Kalivoda, Nana Pietriyk, Danielle Saraceno, Kristen Sellitto, Andrea White, Crystal Wright.

Twenty years of service:
Kim Crisanti, Tina Finch, Marina Itterly, Scott Symons.

Twenty-five years of service:
Terri Mutz, Ginger Condie, Brian Thompson.

Thirty years of service:
Craig Berthel, Mike Galusha, Jr.

Longevity Award for 55 years of service:
Duane Harrison.

Perfect attendance 2022-23:
Cole Battaglini, Nicholas Bendick, Craig Berthel, Thomas Birtch, Frank Bowman, Justin Breward, Vito Bufalino, April Chidester , Darlene Colwell, Heather Colwell, Anita Dugan, Marilyn Elmer, Melinda Ferris, Nancy Flanagan, Michael Galusha, Jr., Yvonne Gow, William Hawk, Timothy Hogan, Mary Kenyon, Scott Kenyon, Colleen Krom, Stephen Mazikewich, Tina McCaffery, Corrine Mott, Terri Mutz, Nana Pietriyk, Rebecca Reed, Ruth Seward, Sandra Smith, Colleen Springsteen, Robert Villecco, Karen Webb.

Superintendent’s Conference Day was the final event on the district calendar before the first day of school for students, Wednesday, September 6th.

Print This Article
View text-based website